The statue of C. S. Lewis in front of the ward...
The statue of C. S. Lewis in front of the wardrobe from his book The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe in East Belfast, Northern Ireland (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I remember some of my favorite books from when I was a kid. Books like Wind in the Willows, Madeline, The Secret Garden, Castle in the Attic, Anne of Green Gables and later Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, anything C.S Lewis and Charles Dickens. Those were just a few. I loved going to the library to pick up my favorite books. I would get home and tuck into a corner and imagine myself in the story. I remember some of those stories I would read over and over till I could see every detail, hear every sound and smell the air around the characters. I didn’t want to miss any part of the adventure. I cheered for them, laughed at their witty remarks, and cried with them. It was the best time in the world!

Today I still love  to read and I love reading some of those stories to my kids now. We are reading Tales of Peter Rabbit and the Chronicles of Narnia. It’s so much fun because since I have known these stories all my life I act them out as we read the books together. A little noisy for some at bedtime, but it is the best time of the evening for us. I have my parents to thank for this avid love of the written word. They introduced it to us at an early age, reading every chance they could, taking us to libraries, and filling the shelves my dad had built into the walls  with all the books my mother had purchased over the years for us. We had our own library of every imaginable kind of book.you could think of. I remember my dad would try to read to us in the evening from C.S Lewis books and Robinson Crusoe. He worked all the time to support our family but no matter how tired he was he would read to us one chapter a night. My mom introduced us to all the literary giants throughout the ages and this only led to a deeper love for reading and my brothers took up writing as a pass time. My bookshelves are overflowing with books I have bought for my kids and they are always asking for more. Reading to your kids and starting at an early age is a great way to instill a passion for reading later in their life. It builds up their vocabulary, enriches their imagination and opens their minds to reach beyond the limited four walls they live in every day. They have a powerful way of influencing us and our choices. The written word truly is beautiful but it is equally as powerful. So I don’t think it wise especially with young children to read just anything we should discern between what is of value and what we could probably go with out.

 

So what were some of your favorite books or characters from your childhood? What books do you enjoy reading with your kids now? Share some of your favorites and I will pick from among them to showcase in our monthly book picks.

Leave a Reply

